Communication by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs concerning temporary immigration measures

The Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs wishes to inform that the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has acted on the Council Recommendations (EU) 2021/1782 of 29 October 2021 and 2021/1945 of 9 November 2021 amending Recommendation (EU) 2020/912 on the temporary restriction on non-essential travel into the EU and the possible lifting of such restriction.


The list of third countries, whose residents are not affected by a temporary restriction at the external borders on non-essential travel to the Grand Duchy, has therefore been updated, removing, with effect from 22 November 2021, Singapore and Ukraine from the list. At the same time, Argentina, Colombia, Namibia, and Peru will be added to the list.


Consequently, as of 22 November 2021, third-country nationals residing in Singapore or Ukraine are not any longer allowed to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg for non-essential travel.

On the contrary, as of the aforementioned date, third-country nationals residing in Argentina, Colombia, Namibia and Peru are once more allowed to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, including for non-essential travel.


Proof of residence is the responsibility of the third-country national.

The updated list of third countries whose residents are authorised to enter the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, including for non-essential travel, thus reads as follows:


i.                     States

-          Argentina

-          Australia

-          Bahrain

-          Canada

-          Chile

-          China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity at EU level)

-          Colombia

-          Jordan

-          Kuwait

-          Namibia

-          New Zealand

-          Peru

-          Qatar

-          Rwanda

-          Saudi Arabia

-          South Korea

-          United Arab Emirates

-          Uruguay


ii.                   Special administrative regions of the People’s Republic of China

-          Hong Kong SAR

-          Macao SAR


iii.                 Entities and territorial authorities not recognized as States by at least one Member State of the European Union

-          Taiwan


Third-country nationals residing in a country which does not appear on the aforementioned list, are not authorised to enter the territory of the Grand Duchy, with the exception of third country nationals holding a certificate proving a complete vaccination pattern considered as equivalent in Luxembourg.


Along with the vaccination certificates issued by a member State of the European Union or the Schengen Area, Luxembourg also recognizes certificates proving a complete vaccination pattern issued by the following third countries[1]:


-          Albania

-          Andorra

-          Armenia

-          Faroe Islands

-          Georgia

-          Israel

-          Moldova

-          Morocco

-          Monaco

-          New Zealand

-          Panama

-          Republic of North Macedonia

-          San Marino

-          Serbia

-          Turkey

-          United Kingdom

-          United States of America

-          Ukraine

-          Vatican


Please note that any person, regardless of nationality and place of residence, holding a vaccination certificate issued by one of the aforementioned states, can use their certificate to meet the additional health measures applicable for all travel by air transport to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.


Are also authorised to enter the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, third country nationals if their travel is considered essential. To this end, an express request is to be sent by e-mail ( to the Passport, Visa and Legalization Office, in order to be issued the relevant document.


Furthermore, it is recalled that additional health measures are applicable for all travel by air transport to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. Any person aged 12 years and 2 months or above, is required to present, before boarding a flight to Luxembourg:


·         Either a vaccination certificate attesting to a complete vaccination pattern[2] against Covid-19, established in accordance with article 3bis of the amended law of 17 July 2020 on measures to combat the Covid-19 pandemic. Namely a vaccination certificate issued by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, a Member State of the European Union or the Schengen Area. Certificates issued by certain third countries are also accepted (see above for the relevant third countries).

·         Or a recovery certificate established in accordance with the provisions of Regulation (EU) 2021/953, for people who have had a recent SARS-CoV-2 infection within 6 months prior to travel and who have completed the applicable isolation period in the respective country with resolution of all symptoms of infection;

·         Or the negative result (on paper or electronically) of a nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT) for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 viral RNA (PCR, TMA or LAMP methods[3]) carried out less than 72 hours before the flight or of a SARS-CoV-2 rapid antigen test[4] carried out less than 48 hours before the flight, by a medical analysis laboratory or any other entity authorised for this purpose. The negative result of the test must be presented, if necessary, accompanied by a translation in one of the administrative languages of Luxembourg or in English, Italian, Spanish or Portuguese.


The details of the applicable rules and the exemptions in place, as well as the exact procedures to be carried out beforehand can be consulted by following the link below:



[1] List remains unchanged since the last update on 16 November 2021.

[2] a) Any pattern that defines the number and interval of injections necessary to achieve sufficient protective immunity and is complete upon administration of the required doses if multiple doses are given or, for single-dose vaccines, after a 14-day interval. b) For persons who have recovered and have been vaccinated within 180 days of the first positive NAAT test result, the vaccination pattern is complete 14 days after the administration of the single dose of any vaccine administered.

[3] PCR: polymerase chain reaction; TMA: transcription-mediated amplification; LAMP: loop-mediated isothermal amplification.

[4] In accordance with the World Health Organization criteria: antigen-detection in the diagnosis of SARS-CoV-2 infection using rapid immunoassays, Interim Guidance, 11 September 2020, and listed in the list of rapid antigen tests established on the basis of Recommendation 2021/C24/01 of 22 January 2021.

Last update