Advanced search

Copenhague > General Information about Luxembourg > Languages >


The language situation in the Grand Duchy features the practice and legal recognition of three languages: Luxembourgish, French and German. The importance of the coexistence of these languages is an integral part of the national identity. Multilingualism has deep roots in the everyday life of the country and permeates every level of society.

National language: Luxembourgish (Lëtzebuergesch), a Moselle-Frankish dialect belonging to the family of Germanic languages, became the national language under the Law of 24 February 1984 on language policy

Administrative languages: French, German and Luxembourgish

Legislative language: French

Languages used for legal purposes: French, German and Luxembourgish

Languages used in the workplace: since the majority of the active population is made up of foreigners (71%), French is the main language of communication, followed by Luxembourgish, German, English and Portuguese.

Languages used at public schools in the Grand Duchy: German and French at fundamental schools; German, French and English at secondary schools

 Languages in the Grand Duchy's media:

  • Luxembourgish (radio and television)
  • German, French (written press)
  • Portuguese for media directed at the Portuguese community, English for the international community

Recognition of the Luxembourgish language nationally and Internationally

A few words in Lëtzebuergesch

Luxembourgish                                  English
Moien Hello
Äddi Goodbye
E schéinen Dag! Have a nice day!
Jo Yes
Nee No
Wann ech gelift Please
Merci Thank you
Gär geschitt! You're welcome!
Wéi geet et? How are you?
Nondikass! Damned!